Things you have to go through being away from home

One of the co-workers shared with me her experience of staying away from home, living and working in a foreign land and environment. This is what she described and then, I agree to every single thing she mentioned:
1) You realize there is no such thing as idealism
2) You know who you can count upon, you either get true and honest friends or you lose the ones you have known for years or you think were closer to you
3) You have to do everything for yourself
4) You know the value of relationships if you are a sensitive and faithful person to your family
There was something more she mentioned based on her experience. I just want to add few more things in addition to her observation:
1) No matter how well you are earning, you don’t have anyone to celebrate your success all the time. However, I am blessed in this regard, as I have some good friends and it would be unfair if I don’t mention Doc, Letha and Sandi. What they have done for me and still are doing, I can’t describe in words.
2) Another poignant thought is when you come back home from work no one is there to ask you how was your day.
My family asks me every time I talk to them on Skype and then off course, Doc and Letha ask me every time they see me. And, Sandi also does it through email. But, physically no one is there everyday to ask you how was the day and work.
3) You have to have solution of your every problem. If fortunate enough to have wonderful friends like myself then they would help you, otherwise it could be a big suffering.
4) You have to meet the people you never knew you would because there is no choice for you.
5) When there is a family problem back in home, your heart aches when your family member is in pain. Only those people who love you truly can care for that. Just to give you example, when I posted for Asher, my eldest brother’s sickness; my friends surround me with their support messages. Their words just lift me.
No one has to stay on this earth forever, but some people who think themselves imperishable and have so much arrogance of their wealth can’t realize it. Therefore, they can’t associate with others’ pain. They rather enjoy seeing others in pain and suffering. There is another category of people I have seen in the last year who think they are perfect in health due to their good works and others are suffering due to their bad works. I feel so sorry for these people’s pathetic thinking, and my heart can’t handle it because I have my brother who is the best in all ways out of my siblings and he is suffering.
6) The things your family used to provide for you now you have to do all by yourself.
7) Some people who know you are weak, they would like to take advantage of you.
8) No one makes you realized in your home what they do for you. Again, I have friends who have done so much for me that I can’t say its true for me all.
9) No matter how stable, rich and famous you are, there is no place like home and to be surrounded by the people who love you.
10) Your mind starts to think realistically. All the fantasies and charm is over. You realize your life is in a new dimension where there is no one but you have to struggle by yourself.

2 thoughts on “Things you have to go through being away from home

  1. You can’t be more factual in your assessment of relationships .I am still trying t figure out whether human beings are the best of Lord’s creation.You deserve my love Lubna

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.