My journey in driving

So my driving adventure started in the late January. Prior to that, I had cleared my written test in Last November. I got 100% in the written test. However, I didn’t know that challenging part was coming ahead, as I have never driven back in Pakistan. The challenge in the US was  who would teach me driving.  I started to pray for it and I told in my church as a testimony that I had passed my written test.  My driving journey has a correlation with the choir practice and with these two most important and wonderful persons who have taught me driving.

After my arrival here in the US in Last September, and my plan to settle here ushered me into the world of known and un-known fears. The first one was away from home, family, luxuries and then leaving a good job back in Pakistan. But, sometimes the hardest choices have to be made in order to have a better and secure life not for yourself but for others who are associated with you.

After coming to the US, there was no job waiting for me so I had to spend quite a time at home in job search and also to wait for some important documents. That was the time I realized to get engaged in the church’s choir and to use my gift of voice. But, I didn’t know anyone who would pick and drop me for the choir’s practice. I discussed it with Pastor Scott and he talked to a lady named Letha who lived less than half a mile from my home. We both were strangers to each other, never knew that the first meeting would turn into a very strong bond in the time to come.

Today, I have the driving license its because of this wonderful and generous couple Doc and Letha. It was the choir’s practice which connected me and Letha. Since we both knew nothing much about each other, so we started to talk on various issues on our way to church and on the way back home. The more we talked, the more we knew about each other. I always found out she took a great interest in knowing about my beliefs and upbringing as a Christian. Over the passage of time, we started to get closer and closer. They started to pick me every Sunday early morning for the choir, as a result, Doc began to know me as well. I started to not only get more acquaintance with them but also developed a family like bond.

Ever since then until now, I share with them most of the matters which I would mostly do back in Pakistan with my family especially mother. That was a day log which I would share with my mother, here, I have found them if not to share the day log, but at least a week’s. We had discussion for long time and the relationship between I and them grew further strengthened as we started to spend more time on the lunch which they took me to after Sunday’s service.

I saw in both Doc and Letha a true Christian and fine human beings, who like to help everyone in need just like myself. They practice what they believe. I am always impressed with the vast knowledge that both Doc and Letha have. I have not only learned driving from them, but also so much information about religion too. Their hearts are filled with kindness and love, want to reach out to the needy expecting nothing in return. I have seen very few people such as them in my life who do so much just out of love and Christian spirit. I mostly say that if in Phoenix, I had Sandi then, here God has given me Doc and Letha. They never resisted to help rather offered to do so.

After my passing of written test, both Doc and Letha asked me when I would start learn driving. I always hesitated as I didn’t want to embarrass myself as I truly didn’t know how to drive. They repeatedly asked me from November until the end of January when I agreed to learn it. I told them about my reason of refusal that I have never driven before. They said its not a problem. Their first comment was you can do it.

The first driving practice started in the place where Doc and Letha live. I still remember the first day, when Letha made me sit on the driving seat. I said to her I couldn’t do it and she said: ” Yes, you can.” For first two weeks, I drove around their residential area but after the second week, she asked me to drive out on road. I was puzzled and confused. She said its not hard. Upon her encouragement, I started to drive around Beaumont . I started practicing on their truck until the middle of April. It was the time, they both thought I should start practicing on their good looking and new Toyota Camry 2013. I told Doc I was not comfortable for me to drive their new car as I may hit it. His reply was the car was not as precious as I was. I can’t forget his words for the rest of my life. How could someone give me their new car for practice. I can’t thank them in words or in any action.

They would teach me once a week and the driving lesson was followed by sumptuous lunch mostly, which shows not only their generosity but their love for me. We would talk for hours. During all these months, they have done so much hardwork with me. They taught me all the rules and made sure I remember all of them. I had a hard time in parallel parking and reversing. I don’t think anyone of my family member had been that much tolerant, would they have to teach me driving as much as both Doc and Letha had been. It brings tears to my eyes as I am writing this. A true example of unconditional love indeed.

Its not only the driving they have taught me, they have taken me to many places for job interviews and then most importantly they are the ones in front of whom, I can pour out my heart. I am blessed to have them in my life. What they have done for me I can never repay. Yesterday, when I came from my test, I could see the smile on Letha’s face. The smile not only showed she was happy but also the contentment and the fruit of their handwork and time on me.

Some of the things I won’t forget while driving when I was driving too slow that someone started to honk at me so badly. But, then again its every time Doc and Letha’s encouragement which made it all possible that I have my permit today.

My reversing and parallel parking got so much improved that yesterday when the instructor had asked me to do that, I did it so well. I am thankful to God for His hand and for always keeping this promise which I need now : ” A father to the fatherless, a defender of widows, is God in his holy dwelling.” Psalm 68:5.  I am thankful to God for giving Doc and Letha in my life. The skill they have trained me with would stay with me for rest of my life. I owe them so much and pray to God that He blesses them more with health, wealth and the best of his treasure. I am thankful for my mom and her prayers who never let me down. She is a true inspiration. Whenever, I am distressed or down-spiritied she always lifts me up.

I still remember someone has told me that I can never get a driving license in the first attempt.  Today, I want to share that if I can do it, then anyone can. I want to close at the verse from Bible : ” I can do all this through Him who gives me strength.” Philipians 4:13.

Thanks God.

I don’t have words to thank Doc and Letha. May God bless them more.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.